Thursday, June 26, 2014

A Stillness of Chimes Review

What if the pain of the past revealed an unknown sacrifice that changes everything?
When teacher Laura Gantt comes home to Prospect, Georgia to settle her recently-deceased mother’s household, the last thing she expects to encounter is a swirl of rumors about the father she lost to the lake twelve years ago—that he has reportedly been seen around town. Elliott Gantt’s body was never found and he was presumed dead. 
Reeling from the sharp loss of a parent, Laura must now grapple with painful memories surrounding her father’s disappearance and the sense of abandonment she experienced after his death. Life-long friend and former beau Sean Halloran wants nothing more than to protect Laura from the far-fetched stories of Elliott’s resurrection and to care for her, but he has his own reasons, troubling echoes from his childhood, to put Elliott’s disappearance to rest.
Working together, Laura and Sean begin to uncover the truth, one mired in the wooded peaks and deep waters of the Blue Ridge Mountains surrounding Prospect. Can they fathom how many secrets the steep hills hold? With surprising facts revealed, will Laura be able to understand the sacrificial choices made that forever changed her life? And can love and a peace with God be rekindled in her heart after so much time has passed?

A Stillness of Chimes by Meg Moseley is a sweetly written book that takes the reader on a amazing journey, full of mystery, sadness, romance, humor, and of course some wonderful southern charm. I found some parts to be a little slow but otherwise A Stillness of Chimes was so worth the time spent reading it. The characters were developed so subtly, each in their own deep way that I would have been hard pressed to not fall in love with them. If you're looking for a book that you don't have to invest any emotion in than this is not for you. But if you want a book that is hard to set down and is filled with amazing characters and a beautiful story I suggest you get this book. 
This is the first of Meg's books that I have read and I look forward to picking up one of her others soon. 

4 out of 5. An Afternoon Snack as sweet as the blackberries I pick from my backyard. 

 I received this book for free fromBlogging for Books for this review.

Friday, June 6, 2014

Stuck Together Review

When a lawman who values order gets stuck with a feisty crusader who likes to stir things up, there's going to be trouble in Texas!

Now that she's settled in town, Tina Cahill is determined to get Broken Wheel's saloon closed for good. To that end, she pickets outside the place every afternoon. Unfortunately, so far no one has paid any attention.

Vince Yates earned the nickname "Invincible Vince" because of his reputation for letting absolutely nothing stop him. But Vince is about to face his biggest challenge yet: his past has just caught up with him. His father, mother, and the sister he didn't know he had show up in Broken Wheel without warning. His father is still a schemer. His mother is showing signs of dementia. And his surprise sister quickly falls for one of Vince's best friends. Vince suddenly has a lot of people depending on him, and Tina doesn't approve of how he's handling any of them.

With nearly every other man in town married off, Vince finds himself stuck with strong-willed Tina over and over again. Of course, Tina is the prettiest woman he's ever seen, so if he could just get her to give up her crazy causes, he might go ahead and propose. But he's got one more surprise coming his way: Tina's picketing at the saloon has revealed a dark secret that could put everyone Vince loves in danger.

Stuck Together is the third and final installment of Mary Connealy's Trouble in Texas Series  and one of my favorites. I have read most of Mary's books  and they seem never disappoint me. I'll start one of her books with high expectations and I always finish with them my expectations far surpassed. 
I loved getting to know the new characters that were introduced and becoming even more familiar with the old.  I loved all of the heroes in this series but I must say that I think Vince is my favorite. Oh, and if you haven't yet I suggest you visit Mary Connealy's blog site  and read Closer Than Brothers the story of how the Regulators came to be and there is even a little bit about Callie and Seth (from Over the Edge) :)

5 out of 5. This Afternoon Snack was nothing like Glynna cooking. (meaning it was amazing) ;)

got a free review copy of Stuck Together from Bethany House Publishers in return for my honest review.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Seasons of Tomorrow Review

As love restores Rhoda, a sudden tragedy is the test of faith she never saw coming.

More settled in her heart than ever before, Rhoda Byler feels a newfound confidence living in the Old Order Amish settlement she helped establish in Orchard Bend, Maine. Time has helped to heal the wounds of Rhoda’s recent severed relationship, and she finds that even her unusual gift of profound intuition is less of a burden as she continues to seek God’s wisdom for her future. She is happy to be working alongside the King family and the love of her life as they tend and nurture the settlement’s orchard.

Yet when Leah King’s involvement with Englischer Landon Olson becomes known outside of the Maine community, her disregard of the Ordnung could threaten all the Orchard Bend Amish are building. In the midst of addressing the discord, a shocking tragedy challenges the young settlement like never before, threatening to uproot Rhoda’s peace and the future of everything she holds dear.

When several members of Orchard Bend Farms are displaced, the estranged King brother is called upon to return. Can those who founded the new Amish community in Maine unite Or will the lingering pain of past hurts and present struggles result in the end of their dreams?

Seasons of Tomorrow is the fourth and final book in the Amish Vines and Orchards series by Cindy Woodsmall. As with all her other books Cindy has filled this book series with interesting characters who I find very easy to like. Cindy's way of weaving a story together is something I find simply amazing. The twist and turns of the plot come together in such a natural way that its hard to believe that the events within the book are not real.
Seasons of Tomorrow, or if you haven't read the first three books, the Amish Vines and Orchards series is a perfect way to start off your summer.

5 out of 5. A perfectly Amish Afternoon Snack.

 I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.